Iowa football completes 2020 schedule


IOWA CITY, Iowa - - The University of Iowa has added a home date with Northern Iowa to complete its 2020 football schedule. The Hawkeyes and Panthers will open the season Saturday, Sept. 5, 2020, in Kinnick Stadium.

With the addition of Northern Iowa (UNI), Iowa has also announced the movement of the 2020 nonconference game against Northern Illinois (NIU) from Sept. 5 to Sept. 26, also at Kinnick Stadium. The Hawkeyes also host Iowa State on Sept. 12, as part of the Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series.  Iowa opens Big Ten play at Minnesota on Sept. 19, 2020.

Both Northern Illinois (Sept. 1) and Northern Iowa (Sept. 15) are also on Iowa’s 2018 nonconference schedule. Iowa holds a 16-1 series advantage over Northern Iowa, including a 31-23 decision in 2014 in the most recent meeting. The Hawkeyes lead the series with Northern Illinois 8-1, with NIU winning 30-27 in 2013 when the teams last met. 

Iowa’s football schedules through 2020 are now complete. The Hawkeyes will host four Big Ten Conference games in both 2018 and 2020, along with the three nonconference dates.  Iowa’s Big Ten Conference schedule, through 2021, was announced in September.


Sept. 1            Northern Illinois

Sept. 8            Iowa State

Sept. 15         Northern Iowa

Sept. 22         Wisconsin

Sept. 29         Open

Oct. 6              at Minnesota

Oct. 13            at Indiana

Oct. 20            Maryland (HC)

Oct. 27            at Penn State

Nov. 3             at Purdue

Nov. 10          Northwestern (FW)

Nov. 17          at Illinois

Nov. 23          Nebraska



Aug. 31           Miami, Ohio

Sept. 7            Rutgers

Sept. 14         at Iowa State

Sept. 21         Open

Sept. 28         Middle Tennessee State

Oct. 5              at Michigan

Oct. 12            Penn State

Oct. 19            Purdue (HC)

Oct. 26            at Northwestern

Nov. 2             Open

Nov. 9             at Wisconsin

Nov. 16          Minnesota (FW)

Nov. 23          Illinois

Nov. 29          at Nebraska



Sept. 5            Northern Iowa

Sept. 12         Iowa State

Sept. 19         at Minnesota

Sept. 26         Northern Illinois

Oct. 3              Michigan State

Oct. 10            at Ohio State

Oct. 17            at Penn State

Oct. 24            Northwestern

Nov. 7             at Illinois

Nov. 14          Nebraska

Nov. 21          at Purdue

Nov. 28          Wisconsin